The CILIP Carnegie & Greenaway Children’s Book Awards 2016: Winners

cilip 2016‘We are cheering books today,’

declared Robin Ince before announcing the winners of the Carnegie and Greenaway Medals, along with the inaugural winners of the Amnesty CILIP Honour.

Chris Riddell, Sarah Crossan, Robin Tulley and Ross Collins huge congratulations to you.

Sleeper and the Spindel by Chris Riddell

Congratulations to Chris Riddell, winner of the Kate Greenaway Medal for The Sleeper and the Spindle.

One by Sarah Crossan

Congratulations to Sarah Crossan for One, winner of the Carnegie Medal.

Lies We Tell Ourselves by Robin Tulley

Huge congratulations to Robin Talley for Lies We Tell Ourselves and Ross Collin’s for There Is a Bear in My Chair, who are the inaugural winners of the Amnesty CILIP Honour.

There's A Bear in my Chair by Ross Collins

Each year two special commendations, the Amnesty CILIP Honour, will be awarded to the author and illustrator of two books; one from each shortlist, that most distinctively illuminates, communicates, or celebrates our personal rights and freedoms.

The UK’s oldest and most prestigious children’s book awards, the CILIP Carnegie & Kate Greenaway Medals are awarded annually by school librarians. Often described by authors and illustrators as ‘the one they want to win’ – they are the gold standard in children’s literature. Our successful Shadowing scheme engages thousands of children and young people in reading the books on the shortlist every year.

No Comments Yet.

Leave a comment